The SIGMAA on Research in Undergraduate Mathematics Education
presents its Thirteenth Annual

Conference on Research in

Undergraduate Mathematics Education

Marriott Raleigh City Center - Raleigh, North Carolina

February 25- February 28, 2010


WEBSITE UPDATED May 14th, 2010




As part of its on-going activities to foster research in undergraduate mathematics education and the dissemination of such research, the Special Interest Group of the Mathematical Association of America on Research in Undergraduate Mathematics Education (SIGMAA on RUME) presents its thirteenth Conference on Research in Undergraduate Mathematics Education.

The conference is a forum for researchers in collegiate mathematics education to share results of research addressing issues pertinent to the learning and teaching of undergraduate mathematics. The conference is organized around the following themes: results of current research, contemporary theoretical perspectives and research paradigms, and innovative methodologies and analytic approaches as they pertain to the study of undergraduate mathematics education. The program will include plenary addresses, contributed paper sessions, and preliminary paper sessions.

Sessions will begin at 7:00 pm, February 25, 2010 and continue through to noon on Sunday, February 28, 2010. The opening plenary will take place on Thursday evening followed by a reception. Conference registration includes all meals except dinner on Saturday.


Registration will be done through MAA- Click HERE to go to registration website


NEW: Working Group information    

Working Groups will meet on Thursday, prior to the usual start of the RUME conference.  This year, there are three working groups:


Working Group on Proof Presentation

Working Group on Infinity and Limits in Undergraduate Mathematical Learning

Working Group for Research About Novice Teachers of College Mathematics

If you are interested in participating in a Working Group, or learning more about one, then click here.




Plenary Speakers:

Dr. Robert Beichner,    North Carolina State University, North Carolina, USA

Dr. David Bressoud,      Macalester University, Minnesota, USA

Dr. Adrian Simpson,     Durham University, United Kingdom

Dr. Patricio Herbst,         University of Michigan, Michigan, USA


Dr. Uri Treisman from the University of Texas will hold a special session on Friday evening at 7:00 p.m. to discuss his new work.

The work involves a major project at the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching focused on the redesign of critical on-ramp

courses in two-year colleges.  He is hoping to share information and possibly enlist some colleagues to work with him.


Dr. Michael Pearson, MAA, will hold a special session 5:30-6:30 p.m. on Thursday (before the opening plenary- location TBA). This session will be to talk about ideas for a new MAA research project about the online course- related program WeBWork. Click here for more information.

Call for Proposals (The deadline is now past for Proposals for the Thirteenth Conference)

Click for proposal submission guidelines:   html         word

Click for template for submission:  template

Registration Information

Early Registration Deadline: February 1, 2010. Registration includes all meals except Saturday night.

        Click HERE to go to registration website.

Registration Cost:

       Early Registration (by February 1, 2010) Graduate Student $235, Faculty $310
       Late Registration (after February 1, 2010) Graduate Student $310, Faculty $385


Conference Hotel Information

Raleigh Marriott City Center
500 Fayetteville Street
Raleigh, NC 27601

The hotel rate is $129 plus tax and fees.

 To book a room at the $129 rate, go to In the regular reservations box, select stay dates etc. Just below stay dates, type the following code into the 'Group Code' box:  RMERMEA.

You can also call and reserve by phone- use the same Group Code: RMERMEA

Transportation Information

There are two shuttle services available from the Raleigh-Durham airport to the Raleigh Marriott City Center.  They are:

1) Super Shuttle: .  The shuttle service is $16 one way, $28 round trip, reservations recommended. Please click here for the schedule.

2) Whitehorse:  They do not have set prices, so you would need to call.

Also, taxis run all the time and would be approximately $20-$25.

Parking is available at the Marriott and information can be found by clicking here.  

Entertainment Information

There are many restaurants near the Marriott.  In addition, there is a wonderful restaurant and bar at the hotel. Click here for a list of choices.
The Progress Energy Center is a fine arts center.  There are concerts and a ballet on Friday and Saturday night and the center is in walking distance.

Please contact Karen Keene for other information.

 Here are some useful links

·     Raleigh North Carolina

·     North Carolina State University

·     Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts (Only a few blocks from the conference hotel)

·     Raleigh Marriott City Center

·     Twenty free things to do in Raleigh


Program Committee Chairperson

Stacy Brown
Pitzer College
Local Organizer
        Karen Keene
        North Carolina State University

Questions regarding the conference program should be directed to the Program Committee Chairperson while the questions regarding registration or accommodations should be directed to the local organizer

Conference Planning Committee

Jason Belnap
Brigham Young University

Natasha M Speer
University of Maine

Stacey Brown
Pitzer College


Allison Toney

University of North Carolina, Wilmington


Hope Gerson

Brigham Young University

Joe Wagner

 Xavier University

Karen Allen Keene (Local Organizer)
North Carolina State University

Keith Weber

Rutgers University


Jessica Knapp

Pima Community College


Aaron Weinberg

Ithaca College


Karen Marrongelle
Portland State University

 Michelle Zandieh (Past Program Chair)
Arizona State University


Jenn Christian-Smith

University of Texas at Austin

Sean Larsen

Portland State University




Mathematical Association of America
North Carolina State University